It is currently 08 Jun 2025, 15:01
   
Text Size

Card Development Questions

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 03 Jul 2011, 16:12

Hmm.. It feels like it should be part of the ValidTgts portion, but isValidCard down to hasProperty take the Controller and the Card source, where we would need to have access to the Ability. (So it can then check it's parents Targets). This code is used in a lot of places, and we are close to a beta release, so I don't want to just go changing that without proper discussion.

For general purpose, I think using Remember when we already have the information in Targeted isn't the right way to handle this situation, since it can have adverse effects.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby jeffwadsworth » 03 Jul 2011, 22:53

Would Horde of Notions be doable as a ChangeZone?
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 03 Jul 2011, 23:14

jeffwadsworth wrote:Would Horde of Notions be doable as a ChangeZone?
Not really. We need AF_Cast for that.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby jeffwadsworth » 05 Jul 2011, 00:09

Genju of the Fens:

| Open
Name:Genju of the Fens
ManaCost:B
Types:Enchantment Aura
Text:no text
K:Enchant Swamp
A:SP$ Attach | Cost$ B | ValidTgts$ Swamp | AILogic$ Pump
A:AB$ Animate | Cost$ 2 | Defined$ Enchanted | Power$ 2 | Toughness$ 2 | Types$ Creature,Spirit | Colors$ Black | Abilities$ ABPump | SpellDescription$ Until end of turn, enchanted Swamp becomes a 2/2 black Spirit creature with "B: This creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn." It's still a land.
T:Mode$ ChangesZone | ValidCard$ Card.AttachedBy | Origin$ Battlefield | Destination$ Graveyard | TriggerZones$ Battlefield | Execute$ TrigReturnOwner | OptionalDecider$ You | TriggerDescription$ When enchanted Swamp is put into a graveyard, you may return CARDNAME from your graveyard to your hand.
SVar:ABPump:AB$Pump | Cost$ B | Defined$ Self | NumAtt$ +1 | NumDef$ +1 | SpellDescription$ This creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.
SVar:TrigReturnOwner:AB$ChangeZone | Cost$ 0 | Defined$ Self | Origin$ Graveyard | Destination$ Hand
SVar:Rarity:Uncommon
SVar:Picture:http://www.wizards.com/global/images/magic/general/genju_of_the_fens.jpg
End


When the Swamp is a 2/2, I am not able to tap it for mana. I can only activate the pump. Does someone see the issue?
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 05 Jul 2011, 00:17

jeffwadsworth wrote:When the Swamp is a 2/2, I am not able to tap it for mana. I can only activate the pump. Does someone see the issue?
Summoning Sickness?
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby jeffwadsworth » 05 Jul 2011, 00:22

friarsol wrote:
jeffwadsworth wrote:When the Swamp is a 2/2, I am not able to tap it for mana. I can only activate the pump. Does someone see the issue?
Summoning Sickness?
That should not prevent me from tapping for mana. It is still a Land.
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby slapshot5 » 05 Jul 2011, 00:27

I don't know about Genju of the Fens, but it's not unique. The other Genju's that I submitted are affected by this also.

It looks like the SAs are still there since you can see the SpellDescriptions, so it's possibly a problem with the canPlay()?

-slapshot5
slapshot5
Programmer
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 03 Jan 2010, 17:47
Location: Mac OS X
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby slapshot5 » 05 Jul 2011, 00:30

jeffwadsworth wrote:
friarsol wrote:
jeffwadsworth wrote:When the Swamp is a 2/2, I am not able to tap it for mana. I can only activate the pump. Does someone see the issue?
Summoning Sickness?
That should not prevent me from tapping for mana. It is still a Land.
That's exactly what's going on though. Add Permanent$ True to the Animate, and wait til the next turn. Mana abilities work as expected.

What's the correct ruling on this?

-slapshot5
slapshot5
Programmer
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 03 Jan 2010, 17:47
Location: Mac OS X
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby jeffwadsworth » 05 Jul 2011, 00:32

Ack!

A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature is subject to the "summoning sickness" rule: It can only attack, and its {T} abilities can only be activated, if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of his or her most recent turn.

:oops:
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 05 Jul 2011, 01:48

I probably should have clarified exactly what I meant. A non-creature type that hasn't been in play since the beginning of your turn that becomes a creature is affected by "summoning sickness"

-Sol, Rules Lawyer
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby jeffwadsworth » 07 Jul 2011, 01:07

I have been fooling around with Sentinel. The problem with using Animate is due to the targeting aspect of Sentinel's ability. Does anyone see another solution that does not involve a hack?
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 07 Jul 2011, 01:21

jeffwadsworth wrote:I have been fooling around with Sentinel. The problem with using Animate is due to the targeting aspect of Sentinel's ability. Does anyone see another solution that does not involve a hack?
Do you have the Sample code? I'll try something locally and commit if it works.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 07 Jul 2011, 02:32

Alright to get this functional you need to change in AF_Animate.resolve():

Code: Select all
if (tgt != null)
    tgts = tgt.getTargetCards();
else
    tgts = AbilityFactory.getDefinedCards(source, params.get("Defined"), sa);
to

Code: Select all
if (tgt == null || params.containsKey("Defined"))
    tgts = AbilityFactory.getDefinedCards(source, params.get("Defined"), sa);
else
    tgts = tgt.getTargetCards();           
but the StackDescription is still messed up so that needs to be tweaked too. I'm not going to commit these changes, but it won't take it much to get it working.

The card is (and I expect to see Sworn Defender soon afterwards)

Code: Select all
Name:Sentinel
ManaCost:4
Types:Artifact Creature Shapeshifter
Text:no text
PT:1/1
A:AB$ Animate | Cost$ 0 | Defined$ Self | ValidTgts$ Creature.blockingSource,Creature.blockedBySource | TgtPrompt$ Select target creature blocking or blocked by Sentinel | Toughness$ X | Permanent$ True | SpellDescription$ CARDNAME's toughness becomes 1 plus the power of target creature blocking or blocked by CARDNAME. (This effect lasts indefinitely.)
SVar:X:Targeted$CardPower/Plus.1
End
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby jeffwadsworth » 07 Jul 2011, 02:49

Thanks Sol. :) I did have a sample but I didn't expect someone to respond this quickly and grabbed a bite.

Sworn Defender is one of my RARE collection cards.

| Open
Name:Sworn Defender
ManaCost:2 W W
Types:Creature Human Knight
Text:no text
PT:1/3
A:AB$ Animate | Cost$ 1 | Defined$ Self | ValidTgts$ Creature.blockingSource,Creature.blockedBySource | TgtPrompt$ Select target creature blocking or blocked by CARDNAME | Power$ X | Toughness$ Y | SpellDescription$ CARDNAME's power becomes the toughness of target creature blocking or being blocked by CARDNAME minus 1 until end of turn, and CARDNAME's toughness becomes 1 plus the power of that creature until end of turn.
SVar:X:Targeted$CardToughness/Minus.1
SVar:Y:Targeted$CardPower/Plus.1
SVar:Rarity:Rare
SVar:Picture:http://www.wizards.com/global/images/magic/general/sworn_defender.jpg
End
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Card Development Questions

Postby friarsol » 07 Jul 2011, 03:08

In your personal collection? I own the whole Alliances set :-d I'm very fond of it.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests


Who is online

In total there are 30 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 30 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests

Login Form