It is currently 21 May 2025, 11:44
   
Text Size

How to get started?

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: How to get started?

Postby jendave » 24 Jul 2011, 22:32

I have created a new page in the wiki describing full Maven/Git/Eclipse integration.
http://www.slightlymagic.net/wiki/Forge ... ntegration

Please take a look. It is still a little rough.

Dave
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Braids » 24 Jul 2011, 23:39

jendave wrote:I have created a new page in the wiki describing full Maven/Git/Eclipse integration.
http://www.slightlymagic.net/wiki/Forge ... ntegration

Please take a look. It is still a little rough.

Dave
what if i have already right-clicked pom.xml, and have run it as a maven build successfully? do i still need to go through your document?
"That is the dumbest thing I've ever seen." --Rob Cashwalker, regarding Innistrad double-sided cards. One of the first times he and I have ever agreed on something. ;)
User avatar
Braids
Programmer
 
Posts: 556
Joined: 22 Jun 2011, 00:39
Location: Unknown. Hobby: Driving myself and others to constructive madness.
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 25 Jul 2011, 00:02

I deleted my git project and started over. I already have the performed the Create and Register Your Public-Private Key Pair previously.

I was not able to select a SCM. I installed the connectors from the m2e Marketplace. I then re-started.

I redid the previous steps inoder to checkout Forge from Git and setup up a Maven project in Eclipse. I get a Problem Occurred dialog and no project:

`
Attachments
Problem Occurred dialog.jpg
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 25 Jul 2011, 01:31

I deleted the Eclipse folder, the project folder, the git folder and the workspace folder. I installed Eclipse and the needed additional files. I used the Clone the Git Repository and the Import the Cloned Repository instructions rather than new Import Maven Project instructions.

Towards the end of the Import the Cloned Repository instructions I saw something new. A window came up with a list of connectors that Eclipse wanted to install. Granted, they were only SVN subversive connectors. I added them for the heck of it. It should not be needed with Git.

I did not go through the Import Maven Project configuration instructions. Yet I have all of the Maven goals listed and named correctly. I am only missing the 1 Run on Server menu item.

I have the full list of build dependencies. Looks like I some how got really close to getting it all set up ... not quite sure how I did it though. :-k
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby jendave » 25 Jul 2011, 07:25

Chris - when you select the Team menu item do you get a list of Git commands like the screenshot? I have a theory on the error you are getting - it is likely that my setup assumes a git executable is installed and in the path. This is different from the Git connector. Oh well, my doc will work in some setups, but not all.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 25 Jul 2011, 10:41

jendave wrote:Chris - when you select the Team menu item do you get a list of Git commands like the screenshot?
`
Yep, mine matches yours line by line. But I believe that all/most of those menu items were there before I saw and tried to follow your wiki.

And my Run As and my Debug As are now fully populated, except they are missing the 1 Run on Server menu item. Before your wiki my Run As and my Debug As were not populated.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 25 Jul 2011, 16:47

Ran a local build with this as the goal:

Code: Select all
-U -B clean -P osx,windows-linux install
`
and get the following error:

[ERROR] Failed to execute goal com.akathist.maven.plugins.launch4j:launch4j-maven-plugin:1.3.3:launch4j (l4j-gui) on project forge: Failed to build the executable; please verify your configuration. net.sf.launch4j.ExecException: Exec failed(2): [Ljava.lang.String;@2c59109c -> [Help 1]
`
I also get a dialog pointing out that with the Lion OS installed I can't open the application windres because PowerPC apps are no longer supported. Looks like I may have to revert back to Snow Leopard. :(
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby jendave » 25 Jul 2011, 16:53

Chris H. wrote:Ran a local build with this as the goal:

Code: Select all
-U -B clean -P osx,windows-linux install
`
and get the following error:

[ERROR] Failed to execute goal com.akathist.maven.plugins.launch4j:launch4j-maven-plugin:1.3.3:launch4j (l4j-gui) on project forge: Failed to build the executable; please verify your configuration. net.sf.launch4j.ExecException: Exec failed(2): [Ljava.lang.String;@2c59109c -> [Help 1]
`
I also get a dialog pointing out that with the Lion OS installed I can't open the application windres because PowerPC apps are no longer supported. Looks like I may have to revert back to Snow Leopard. :(
The launch4j jars both standalone and Maven run a native executable on each platform. It sounds like the executable is not compatible with Lion. I have not yet upgraded so I cannot see it myself.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 26 Jul 2011, 01:59

I cloned the last Snow Leopard backup on my Time Machine to an extra 500 GB HD. I verified that I can build the archives. This will take care of this issue for the moment.

I can continue to keep Lion on my interior boot HD. I can reboot to the Snow Leopard HD when I need to do the next build and release.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby jendave » 26 Jul 2011, 04:10

Chris H. wrote:I cloned the last Snow Leopard backup on my Time Machine to an extra 500 GB HD. I verified that I can build the archives. This will take care of this issue for the moment.

I can continue to keep Lion on my interior boot HD. I can reboot to the Snow Leopard HD when I need to do the next build and release.
That is good news. To bad you have to dual boot though. Once I upgrade (may be awhile since I usually wait until the first maintenance release) I'll see if I can debug it.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 26 Jul 2011, 10:37

jendave wrote:That is good news. To bad you have to dual boot though. Once I upgrade (may be awhile since I usually wait until the first maintenance release) I'll see if I can debug it.
`
The rumor mills have suggested that Apple might weaken their requirements and allow Snow Leopard to be run from Lion via a virtualization app such as Parallels or Fusion. But I do not want to pay for the server version of Snow Leopard to do this.

There have been a few reports that VirtualBox can handle this now...
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby jendave » 26 Jul 2011, 14:54

Chris H. wrote:
jendave wrote:That is good news. To bad you have to dual boot though. Once I upgrade (may be awhile since I usually wait until the first maintenance release) I'll see if I can debug it.
`
The rumor mills have suggested that Apple might weaken their requirements and allow Snow Leopard to be run from Lion via a virtualization app such as Parallels or Fusion. But I do not want to pay for the server version of Snow Leopard to do this.

There have been a few reports that VirtualBox can handle this now...
From your error message, windres appears to be built against PowerPC and not Intel, so I will try to find/compile a new version.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 26 Jul 2011, 17:29

jendave wrote:From your error message, windres appears to be built against PowerPC and not Intel, so I will try to find/compile a new version.
`
No need to rush.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby jeffwadsworth » 28 Jul 2011, 16:26

Within Eclipse: I don't know who fixed the right-click on ForgeGit [cardforge master] and select Run As Java Application, but thanks. This makes things so much easier.
jeffwadsworth
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 04:47
Location: USA
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: How to get started?

Postby Chris H. » 28 Jul 2011, 16:50

jeffwadsworth wrote:Within Eclipse: I don't know who fixed the right-click on ForgeGit [cardforge master] and select Run As Java Application, but thanks. This makes things so much easier.
`
I was also missing the Run As Java Application menu command. Installing the Maven connectors seems to have taken care of this.

I added a brief section to the wiki explaining the maven commands. Most people will not need to use these commands. But it is nice to know what their purpose is even if you do not touch them. :D
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


Who is online

In total there are 24 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 24 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests

Login Form