It is currently 17 Nov 2018, 15:46
   
Text Size

Community Wad

Moderators: Xander9009, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Community Wad

Postby nivmizzet1 » 01 Nov 2018, 14:26

RiiakShiNal wrote:Actually, according to your scenario and the rules the 2/2 creature receives damage at the same moment that the player does and dies before Thraben Doomsayer's continuous ability can kick in (since combat damage from attacking creatures is dealt simultaneously if you exclude first/double strike) so it never becomes 4/4 (regardless of damage).

If, however, the player goes to 5 or less life (but hasn't lost/died) due to say a fast effect during combat (or due to a creature with first/double strike). The fast effect would occur first then 2/2 creature would become 4/4 (due to Thraben Doomsayer) then combat damage would be dealt to the 4/4 creature which would then take the full 99 damage and die (since there is no trample).

If trample is taken into account from the 99/99 attacking creature then in the original scenario the 2/2 creature would take 2 damage and die with 97 going to the player, in the fast effect (or first/double strike) scenario the blocking creature would take 4 damage and die with 95 damage going to the player.
So what you're saying is, the creature should die in pretty much any scenario? Then there is definitely a bug with Thraben Doomsayer. Has anybody else witnessed this bug?
nivmizzet1
 
Posts: 552
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 10:10
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby NEMESiS » 02 Nov 2018, 00:38

Ok, so now this brings me to the question on Serra Ascendant, why does then that creature not die if you for example are at 29 life and normal combat is dealt (lets say with a 3/3) then becoming a 6/6 flyer after combat? Note that Serra Ascendant is supposed to work that way. Ruling on Serra Ascendat:

If Serra Ascendant is dealt damage at the same time that you gain life (most likely because it dealt combat damage to a creature blocking or blocked by it), and your life total becomes 30 or greater, apply its last effect before considering whether or not the damage dealt to it is lethal.
User avatar
NEMESiS
 
Posts: 459
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 04:02
Location: Pools of Becoming
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby RiiakShiNal » 02 Nov 2018, 10:27

nivmizzet1 wrote:So what you're saying is, the creature should die in pretty much any scenario? Then there is definitely a bug with Thraben Doomsayer. Has anybody else witnessed this bug?
Yes, the creature should have died in pretty much any scenario (except possibly in the trample case due to them possibly separating damage dealing from lethal damage checking, my guess below). Whether it is a bug with Thraben Doomsayer (the card) or a bug with the DotP engine (that just happens to show up with Thraben Doomsayer) I'm unsure.

NEMESiS wrote:Ok, so now this brings me to the question on Serra Ascendant, why does then that creature not die if you for example are at 29 life and normal combat is dealt (lets say with a 3/3) then becoming a 6/6 flyer after combat? Note that Serra Ascendant is supposed to work that way. Ruling on Serra Ascendat:

If Serra Ascendant is dealt damage at the same time that you gain life (most likely because it dealt combat damage to a creature blocking or blocked by it), and your life total becomes 30 or greater, apply its last effect before considering whether or not the damage dealt to it is lethal.
Since that is a newer ruling than I am familiar with (2017/11/17), my guess would be they have decided to separate damage dealing from lethal damage checking making them two separate sub-steps. Which could mean that in the case of Thraben Doomsayer since the player is losing life at the same time damage is being dealt (should be the same case as gaining life) the 2/2 would become 4/4, but since it blocked a 99/99 (without trample) it still should have taken 99 damage and would still die. Since according to the ruling on Serra Ascendant, Thraben Doomsayer's ability should take effect before considering whether or not the damage dealt was lethal.
Problems with base game cards: DotP 2014 Core Fixes
Need a deck builder: DotP 2014 Deck Builder
Problems Modding: DotP 2014 Frequent Modding Mistakes
RiiakShiNal
Programmer
 
Posts: 2100
Joined: 16 May 2011, 21:37
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 464 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby nivmizzet1 » 03 Nov 2018, 01:14

You can even see the effect when the opponent's life goes below zero, it's just that the game ends there so you can't get burned by it.
20181103113929_1.jpg

I don't know why Angelic Overseer went down to 0 though?
nivmizzet1
 
Posts: 552
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 10:10
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby Malckyor » 04 Nov 2018, 00:07

Since I just saw it once and no reply to it, so I felt the duty to say it.

Lathliss, Dragon Queen is presenting some issues with its ability, it's not creating a token when a Dragon enters the battlefield. Also it has no image. :(

I've been waiting quite a while for some updates, so in case it was forgotten I'm reporting this issue again as it was originally posted by NEMESIS at July 4th.

Rage Extractor doesn't do any damage.
Shalai, Voice of Plenty is supposed to be legendary.
Lathliss, Dragon Queen is also showing a static ability error.
Malckyor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Oct 2018, 04:55
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Community Wad

Postby nivmizzet1 » 10 Nov 2018, 23:21

is there some sort of registry for card/game bugs like the "Thraben Doomsayer" bug?

I think I've just found another bug, concerning Jace, Vryn's Prodigy -3 ability and Archive Trap. It stems from Jace being coded to give cards flashback, instead of doing what his ability says and allowing cards in the graveyard to be cast here is a link to some discussion about flashback that uses the Jace scenario in an example; in summary, flashback is an alternative cost that can be paid to cast a card from the graveyard, as Archive Traps 0 cost ability is an alternative cost it can't replace the flashback alternative cost; however, Jace's ability isn't invoking an alternate cost and the card should act like it's in your hand.

Is there a way to fix Jace? The only way I can think is a workaround and would probably introduce more errors than it fixes -- if the chosen card was just put in your hand, and then if not cast put back in the graveyard at end of turn.
Last edited by nivmizzet1 on 10 Nov 2018, 23:39, edited 1 time in total.
nivmizzet1
 
Posts: 552
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 10:10
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby Xander9009 » 10 Nov 2018, 23:25

See my signature.
_______________________________
Community Wad - Community Wad Website - How to Help and Report Bugs
Discord: discord.gg/4AXvHzW
User avatar
Xander9009
Programmer
 
Posts: 2824
Joined: 29 Jun 2013, 07:44
Location: Indiana, United States
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 423 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby nivmizzet1 » 11 Nov 2018, 03:47

Xander9009 wrote:See my signature.
but do you think it's possible to fix?
nivmizzet1
 
Posts: 552
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 10:10
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby nivmizzet1 » 11 Nov 2018, 04:12

does anybody know how to turn youtube videos into bik files for animated illustrations?

this youtube account has a lot of great illustrated art -- some of which has been used in the community wad already, I think, but it's not all there

and this one also has some good stuff, some of which may also have already been incorporated in the community wad, but not all (I think).
nivmizzet1
 
Posts: 552
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 10:10
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby Xander9009 » 11 Nov 2018, 23:55

Sorry, I didn't notice the rest if that post. I'm not sure, but my instinct without checking is no, it can't be properly fixed. And yeah, putting it directly in the hand would cause major issues with lots of other cards (consider anything that counts your hand, makes you discard, cast something from your hand for free, or one of several other things). I'll look into it more closely when I'm not at work.
_______________________________
Community Wad - Community Wad Website - How to Help and Report Bugs
Discord: discord.gg/4AXvHzW
User avatar
Xander9009
Programmer
 
Posts: 2824
Joined: 29 Jun 2013, 07:44
Location: Indiana, United States
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 423 times

Re: Community Wad

Postby addict insane » 13 Nov 2018, 15:58

Could someone please code Assassin's Trophy and Pelt Collector :(.

Pleeeeease XD
addict insane
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Mar 2015, 22:20
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Community Wad

Postby addict insane » 15 Nov 2018, 08:20

The Gitrog Monster states that you should draw a card whenever a land card ends up in your graveyard from anywhere. However, I'm not getting an activation when discarding with Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, nor with the discarding for excess hand size at end of turn.
addict insane
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Mar 2015, 22:20
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Previous

Return to 2014

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


Who is online

In total there are 8 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 8 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Login Form