It is currently 20 May 2025, 07:11
   
Text Size

Working out the multi-module maven setup

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Chris H. » 11 Nov 2013, 16:17

I see that I can now access the new folders at cardforge. It looks like the url http://cardforge.org/releases/snapshots/forge/forge/ will now only give us the root pom files for future snapshot builds.

The url http://cardforge.org/releases/snapshots/forge/ now includes these new directories:

forge-ai
forge-core
forge-gui

So it looks like those who want to download the newest snapshot builds will need to use this url instead:

http://cardforge.org/releases/snapshots/forge/forge-gui/

and we will find the newest 1.5.5 snapshot dir at this url

http://cardforge.org/releases/snapshots/forge/forge-gui/1.5.5-SNAPSHOT/

 


Notice!

We recently had a change as of April 20 2014 which moves the snapshot location. Snapshot dirs are now found at

http://cardforge.org/releases/snapshots/forge/forge-gui-desktop/
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Max mtg » 11 Nov 2013, 18:16

If anyone is to add any project to forge, possibly that "rules" and "cards" separation or console application, which actions are to be taken?
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby jendave » 11 Nov 2013, 18:57

Max mtg wrote:If anyone is to add any project to forge, possibly that "rules" and "cards" separation or console application, which actions are to be taken?
If you mean what steps are needed to add new modules to the Forge project, luckily most of the heavy lifting has been done. All you have to do to create a new module is copy the directory structure (and pom.xml) of one of the current modules (forge-ai may be best) and change the names in the pom.xml. You then need to add the <module> entry to the parent pom.xml. The only caveat there is that make sure that the module is listed after any other modules it may depend on. Usually though, it becomes pretty obvious what to do when you build it for the first time and get the errors.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby friarsol » 12 Nov 2013, 01:40

The last errors only popped up after I started doing other things when nothing else worked. Closing/reopening the project didn't matter. Restarting the machine didn't matter. Upgrading Maven didn't seem to matter. I've given up on Eclipse and am trying IntelliJ IDEA now. Seems to be working better than Eclipse did. Hopefully I won't run into other issues.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby jendave » 12 Nov 2013, 08:33

friarsol wrote:The last errors only popped up after I started doing other things when nothing else worked. Closing/reopening the project didn't matter. Restarting the machine didn't matter. Upgrading Maven didn't seem to matter. I've given up on Eclipse and am trying IntelliJ IDEA now. Seems to be working better than Eclipse did. Hopefully I won't run into other issues.
You should have better results with IntelliJ. It is what I use. The Maven integration is much better.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby drdev » 12 Nov 2013, 17:06

I brought up my plan here, but I wanted to make sure making changes to most card script files wasn't going to cause a conflict with things moving around. If I commit the changes tonight or tomorrow, will that be ok?
drdev
Programmer
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 02:07
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Chris H. » 16 Nov 2013, 14:44

After updating to the head version (rev 23687) I attempted to do a snapshot build and deploy but my project now has these build errors:

Code: Select all
Missing artifact forge:forge-ai:jar:1.5.6-SNAPSHOT   pom.xml   /forge-gui   line 166   Maven Dependency Problem

Missing artifact forge:forge-core:jar:1.5.6-SNAPSHOT   pom.xml   /forge-gui   line 161   Maven Dependency Problem

The container 'Maven Dependencies' references non existing library '/Users/me/.m2/repository/forge/forge-core/1.5.6-SNAPSHOT/forge-core-1.5.6-SNAPSHOT.jar'   forge-gui      Build path   Build Path Problem

The project cannot be built until build path errors are resolved   forge-gui      Unknown   Java Problem
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Chris H. » 20 Nov 2013, 15:31

I finally figured out how to fix the errors and was able to do a snapshot build and deploy today.

At first I noticed that I had only the root and forge-gui projects listed so I Imported Existing Maven Projects and added the other two. This did not resolve the issue.

I then did a google search on:

The container 'Maven Dependencies' references non existing library
 
and found a suggestion to Update the project configuration and to update snapshots and this took care of the problem for me.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Max mtg » 20 Nov 2013, 20:33

It looks like, there will be a fourh module, named 'game' (and later on the fifth one standing for network).

The 'game' module will import 'core' and hold all code that is used to run a magic game, but it won't include specific code for any player (only the base player class). So that core will keep all the basic things, that are preserved between games, and gui holds the imahe cache and all those controllers, prerefernces and quests.

What do you think of this?
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Max mtg » 21 Nov 2013, 23:01

Noone has replied... so it looks like there are no objection.
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby drdev » 22 Nov 2013, 01:27

I can't run Forge now because it's looking for cards at this path, which is hard-coded in the new file forge.profile.properties that Max added. I'm running Windows and there is no A directory, so Forge crashes on startup.

cardPicsDir=A:\\mtg\\images

EDIT: So it appears this file was committed to SVN by accident. Deleting it on my end fixed the startup crash for me, so I committed deleting it back to SVN, as well as adding that file to the SVN ignore list.

Max, let me know if adding this file to SVN was intentional, and I'll revert the changes I just committed.
drdev
Programmer
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 02:07
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby Max mtg » 22 Nov 2013, 08:27

I am sorry, added my .properties by accident.
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby drdev » 13 Dec 2013, 18:39

Now that we're working towards breaking things up into modules, how feasible would it be to have multiple gui modules, one that uses Java Swing and one that uses Android XML? It'd be awesome if we could have both a PC version and a tablet version, and given that all code is already in Java, it'd just be a matter of creating a new GUI module for Android without Swing that uses the same back-end modules like forge-core, forge-ai, and forge-game.

I've actually thought about trying my hand at Android development in the past, and would be interested in tackling the challenge of designing a Forge UI that would work on an Android tablet (and maybe even phones).

I'm curious how many people would be interested in that if it is feasible.
drdev
Programmer
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 02:07
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby squee1968 » 13 Dec 2013, 19:45

I've been considering buying a tablet, and have had to limit myself to windows tablets just because any tablet I would buy would HAVE to be able to run Forge. So I, for one, would be very interested if there was an Android version of Forge, as it would expand my options tremendously. Not to mention reduce the cost. And I'm sure I'm not the only one.
squee1968
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 18 Nov 2011, 03:28
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Working out the multi-module maven setup

Postby timmermac » 13 Dec 2013, 20:32

I would be all kinds of thrilled if I could play forge on my EVO 4G LTE.
"I just woke up, haven't had coffee, let alone a pee in 7 days, and I find out you stole my ass and made a ...mini-me! Carter, I should be irked currently, yes?" - Jack O'Neill
User avatar
timmermac
Tester
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: 17 May 2010, 20:36
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 95 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


Who is online

In total there are 15 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 15 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

Login Form