It is currently 02 Apr 2020, 02:39
   
Text Size

Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

MicroProse's Shandalar Campaign Game, now with new cards & a new look!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, stassy, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby anime587 » 30 Dec 2013, 23:59

Uff, careful with those DEP properties. Other older games and their rereleases have to be added as well. The Steam release of Baldur's Gate stopped working with those properties. Just add their executables (steamapps/common/GAMENAME/*.exe) to the DEP list and they should work again. This workaround can cause a bit of harm, but adding all of the older troublemakers to the list should be fine.
anime587
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Dec 2013, 23:53
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Aswan jaguar » 31 Dec 2013, 07:14

Balathus wrote:Can't make it work. It keeps saying that i'm missing deckdll.dll over and over again. Installed the program, patched the game and changed DEP setting. Nothing worked.

Help?
Do you indeed miss deckdll.dll?it is not in your main folder of the game?

I have attached mine,I hope it helps.
Attachments
DeckDLL.rar
(40.82 KiB) Downloaded 321 times
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester
 
Posts: 6830
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 548 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Domri Rade » 20 Jan 2014, 04:34

Can Anyone help me? I downloaded everything and installed the patch but when ever I try to go to Shandalar I choose the difficulty and then when I try and choose a color nothing happens.
"No rest. No mercy. No matter what." ~Akroma, Angel of Wrath
Domri Rade
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Jan 2014, 23:20
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby crazy9000 » 20 Jan 2014, 10:08

The Shandalar 2012 install is working great for me on Windows 8. It's a topic or two down from this one.

All I had to do was turn the compatibility mode to windows XP.
crazy9000
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 19 Mar 2013, 18:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Domri Rade » 20 Jan 2014, 15:31

Also I cant create a character and It doesn't show the wizard difficulty and it doesn't show the color blue as a choice.
"No rest. No mercy. No matter what." ~Akroma, Angel of Wrath
Domri Rade
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Jan 2014, 23:20
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Cyndera » 16 Feb 2014, 04:43

I am amazed at the work you have done for this game. I was searching the web trying to find an old version I could buy and see if i could get it working, and I stumbled upon your site. You saved me the headaches and hassles and brought back one of the greatest versions of MTG ever created for computer. :D So just wanted to issue a big thank you for making this work, and for making it so easy to install and get running!

Tap fast and counter,
Cyn
Cyndera
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Feb 2014, 04:38
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby demarest » 04 Mar 2014, 21:10

Once upon a time, I was able to get Manalink 1.32 to work in Windows 2000. I had to manually do that ACT fix to make all text appear in Shandalar.

Today, I am using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I can get Manalink 1.32 and Manalink 2.0 to work, but with the usual missing text like "Y/N" and specific colors of spells for the quest. With Manalink 1.32, I cannot use Deckbuilder because the moment I toggle any filter, the cards stop displaying properly. With Manalink 2.0, power, toughness, even life totals do not display.

So I thought I'd try 2010 ISO even though all I want is the Shandalar as it was (old cart art, no newer cards). I thought it would work better since the readme says the ACT fix is built in. Here's some images of what I'm (not) seeing:

(Won't let me post offsite URLs to images. Picture the install screen with buttons with no text, the Launcher with buttons with no text, and the Shandalar title screen with options that have no text.)

I have all EXEs listed under DEP and have even tried running Shandalar directly in XP compatibility.

If anybody could point to where/how to manually apply the ACT fix, I think I might just rather play Manalink 1.32 directly. Any help would be appreciated. Many thanks to all the people who have worked so hard that we can even be having this conversation here today :)
demarest
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Apr 2012, 21:14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Huggybaby » 05 Mar 2014, 02:43

Did you reboot after installing? Folks still don't do that for some reason. All that compatibility stuff should not be necessary.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3093
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 590 times
Been thanked: 574 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby demarest » 05 Mar 2014, 05:05

I had rebooted after switching the DEP setting. I had not rebooted after installing the 2010 ISO though. Sorry about that; I don't recall seeing anything in the readme or install process saying I should.

It works good and looks great! Still, I wonder if there's a way to do the ACT fix for Manalink 1.32 for those times when I want to just have the old cards and card art.
demarest
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Apr 2012, 21:14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby SwingBlade » 22 May 2014, 02:48

I have the ISO mounted with Daemon Tools, and then MagicDisc. The installer freezes after the initial animation and doesn't progress. Halp!
SwingBlade
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 May 2014, 02:47
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby gmzombie » 22 May 2014, 02:55

this iso is out of date. please check in the patches folder for the most recent update and there will be a standalone download and an update download along with card art
can I maze of ith your snowstorm?

http://home.comcast.net/~gmzombie/index.html old stuff in here. don't use this stuff right now till I get time to get back into it and readjust.
gmzombie
 
Posts: 855
Joined: 26 Feb 2009, 01:05
Location: Wyoming, Mi
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby SwingBlade » 22 May 2014, 15:05

Appreciate the response! I actually got it running by going to the Setup folder instead of using Autorun. 3/9 P9!
SwingBlade
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 May 2014, 02:47
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby SwingBlade » 22 May 2014, 16:11

Now, does anyone know a way to make it run windowed instead of fullscreen? :D
SwingBlade
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 May 2014, 02:47
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Aswan jaguar » 22 May 2014, 16:17

Use the cursor and make it as big as you want.
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester
 
Posts: 6830
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 548 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby SwingBlade » 22 May 2014, 16:55

I'm afraid I don't understand that statement.

When I run Shandalar.exe, the program launches fullscreen 1024x768.
SwingBlade
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 May 2014, 02:47
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Shandalar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1371 on 09 Feb 2020, 16:22

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form