Bug reports
by ubeefx
Moderators: ubeefx, beholder, melvin, ShawnieBoy, Lodici, CCGHQ Admins
Re: Bug reports
by jerichopumpkin » 03 Aug 2014, 15:57
Merfolk Mesmerist is missing the tap cost of it's ability
- jerichopumpkin
- Posts: 212
- Joined: 12 Sep 2013, 11:21
- Has thanked: 19 times
- Been thanked: 13 times
-
ShawnieBoy - Programmer
- Posts: 601
- Joined: 02 Apr 2012, 22:42
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 80 times
- Been thanked: 50 times
Re: Bug reports
by PalladiaMors » 04 Aug 2014, 12:19
When importing cards from an older Magarena install, it doesn't import missing card images.
- PalladiaMors
- Posts: 343
- Joined: 12 Jul 2014, 17:40
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Re: Bug reports
by Lodici » 04 Aug 2014, 12:37
Thanks, I will raise an issue. I would recommend storing the images in a folder outside of the Magarena install, that way when you import it just copies a link to the folder location instead of every one of the 14K+ image files.
edit: Raised as issue 635.
edit: Raised as issue 635.
Re: Bug reports
by jerichopumpkin » 04 Aug 2014, 19:09
found out that it happens also with soulbound, when you "bestow" a creature, if an unpaired creature with soulbound is in play, the game will ask if you want to pair the "bestow" card with it. Hope this helps finding the issuejerichopumpkin wrote:evolve triggers when you play an enchantment creature using bestow. Rulings is not very clear, but hints in the direction that that should not happen. Anyone has more insight on this?
- jerichopumpkin
- Posts: 212
- Joined: 12 Sep 2013, 11:21
- Has thanked: 19 times
- Been thanked: 13 times
Re: Bug reports
by muppet » 05 Aug 2014, 08:48
Not a bug. Another A.I. fix you might want to consider is when a card has no targets but actually needs them to do anything useful. Examples are Wrath effects and cards that make the opp sacrifice creatures. Currently the A.I. will happily play them and have no effect. For example Supreme Verdict, Cruel Edict, Detention Sphere.
Re: Bug reports
by melvin » 05 Aug 2014, 14:53
Thanks for the report, jerichopumpkin. There was a small gap between the bestowed creature entering the battlefield and its type creature removed. Fixed in https://code.google.com/p/magarena/sour ... 47e91d68bbjerichopumpkin wrote:found out that it happens also with soulbound, when you "bestow" a creature, if an unpaired creature with soulbound is in play, the game will ask if you want to pair the "bestow" card with it. Hope this helps finding the issue
-
melvin - AI Programmer
- Posts: 1062
- Joined: 21 Mar 2010, 12:26
- Location: Singapore
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 459 times
Re: Bug reports
by PalladiaMors » 06 Aug 2014, 03:24
Swords to Plowshares isn't working properly, you can't target your own creatures. I think it should be Target_Creature instead of Neg_Target_Creature?
- PalladiaMors
- Posts: 343
- Joined: 12 Jul 2014, 17:40
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Re: Bug reports
by melvin » 06 Aug 2014, 04:56
You can turn off the hints in settings -> preferences -> gameplay -> uncheck Allow only sensible choicesPalladiaMors wrote:Swords to Plowshares isn't working properly, you can't target your own creatures. I think it should be Target_Creature instead of Neg_Target_Creature?
-
melvin - AI Programmer
- Posts: 1062
- Joined: 21 Mar 2010, 12:26
- Location: Singapore
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 459 times
Re: Bug reports
by missalexis » 08 Aug 2014, 02:16
I'm not sure this counts as a bug exactly but I can't run Magarena on Mavericks with JRE 8 installed. It tells me to install a JRE even though it's already installed. 

- missalexis
- Posts: 52
- Joined: 28 Feb 2011, 00:08
- Has thanked: 2 times
- Been thanked: 5 times
Re: Bug reports
by PalladiaMors » 08 Aug 2014, 22:24
Not a bug, just a small AI issue: I've been playing a bit vs. Monte Carlo (8) and it seems to never be able to play Night's Whisper. I'm no AI psychologist but it looks like it rejects the small life loss so strongly that it just prefers to not make use of the card at all. It sits there with mana available and a comfortable amount of hp and just refuses to play it every time.
- PalladiaMors
- Posts: 343
- Joined: 12 Jul 2014, 17:40
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Re: Bug reports
by muppet » 09 Aug 2014, 09:46
It tends to cast Sign in Blood on its opponent too but its just a tuning thing it really just likes life compared to cards far too much.
Re: Bug reports
by PalladiaMors » 10 Aug 2014, 13:06
There's a small issue with Mishra's Factory. After declaring it as a blocker, the game skips straight to damage resolution and you never have a chance to tap it to itself so it can become 3/3.
- PalladiaMors
- Posts: 343
- Joined: 12 Jul 2014, 17:40
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Re: Bug reports
by ShawnieBoy » 10 Aug 2014, 18:44
I've had a look at the code and can only guess that it had summoning sickness. Yes, if a land enters the battlefield then becomes a creature on the same turn, the creature will have summoning sickness.PalladiaMors wrote:There's a small issue with Mishra's Factory. After declaring it as a blocker, the game skips straight to damage resolution and you never have a chance to tap it to itself so it can become 3/3.
With the life vs cards issue, Melvin might be able to help more with the AI side of things.
-
ShawnieBoy - Programmer
- Posts: 601
- Joined: 02 Apr 2012, 22:42
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 80 times
- Been thanked: 50 times
Re: Bug reports
by PalladiaMors » 10 Aug 2014, 19:11
Pretty sure it wasn't summoning sickness in this case, but maybe it slipped through my attention. It was a single attacker vs. a single blocker and the game wouldn't stop after declaring the block, it skipped straight to after damage resolution. Also, in other situations with other cards in play, it will stop before damage resolution but then I wouldn't be able to tap Mishra to pump itself, when I clicked it it would play the animation ability again and not give me the option to tap. I don't know what I'm saying, as usual, but I'm imagining if Magarena may have some trouble in some situations concerning tapping blockers after they're declared as blockers?
Out of context, but when I learned to play, under Revised edition, tapping blockers would remove them from combat and they wouldn't deal or receive damage in combat. That lead to tricks such as using Mishra's Factory to "absorb" Force of Nature's damage or Riptide being a clunky blue "Fog". This was changed I think during 5th or 6th edition when tapped blockers would deal/receive damage as normal and I wasn't aware about it for a long time (I play sporadically).
OOT stuff aside, I'll take a pic next time it happens in case I see it again. I was playtesting Blood Moon with Mishra's at the time so I didn't think of doing that. And yes, Blood Moon wasn't in play yet.
edit: I think that part of the problem is that Magarena skips through a lot of the combat steps, which I find great in order to speed up the play. However, it does change a couple things: when you're going to regenerate a creature, you have to do it right after blocking, you can't wait for damage to go on the stack because the game won't stop there in order to give you the choice. That's what was going on with Mishra: I chose to block it and if I click pass, it goes straight up to it being destroyed and on the graveyard. If I try to activate the pump before passing, game thinks I'm trying to "take back" the block, since the block hasn't been declared yet.
edit2: By the way, I was looking around to see if there may have been another rules change regarding tapped blockers and found out that rather than showing off my knowledge of the old rules, I was spewing nonsense. Tapping blockers only made them deal no damage, but they received damage normally. That was changed in 6th edition. I either learned to play wrong or my brain is failing with age. Or both.
Out of context, but when I learned to play, under Revised edition, tapping blockers would remove them from combat and they wouldn't deal or receive damage in combat. That lead to tricks such as using Mishra's Factory to "absorb" Force of Nature's damage or Riptide being a clunky blue "Fog". This was changed I think during 5th or 6th edition when tapped blockers would deal/receive damage as normal and I wasn't aware about it for a long time (I play sporadically).
OOT stuff aside, I'll take a pic next time it happens in case I see it again. I was playtesting Blood Moon with Mishra's at the time so I didn't think of doing that. And yes, Blood Moon wasn't in play yet.
edit: I think that part of the problem is that Magarena skips through a lot of the combat steps, which I find great in order to speed up the play. However, it does change a couple things: when you're going to regenerate a creature, you have to do it right after blocking, you can't wait for damage to go on the stack because the game won't stop there in order to give you the choice. That's what was going on with Mishra: I chose to block it and if I click pass, it goes straight up to it being destroyed and on the graveyard. If I try to activate the pump before passing, game thinks I'm trying to "take back" the block, since the block hasn't been declared yet.
edit2: By the way, I was looking around to see if there may have been another rules change regarding tapped blockers and found out that rather than showing off my knowledge of the old rules, I was spewing nonsense. Tapping blockers only made them deal no damage, but they received damage normally. That was changed in 6th edition. I either learned to play wrong or my brain is failing with age. Or both.
- PalladiaMors
- Posts: 343
- Joined: 12 Jul 2014, 17:40
- Has thanked: 36 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests