It is currently 08 Dec 2019, 05:07
   
Text Size

Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

MicroProse's Shandalar Campaign Game, now with new cards & a new look!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, stassy, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby MeeksJoel » 03 Sep 2017, 14:34

I did indeed follow those instructions (as long as I can assume that I understood it correctly (I'm supposed to place the 3 reg files directly into the program files folder "MagicTG" correct?)) and the manalink gem is not appearing. I'll try using the white list for my antivirus/firewall. What files do I need to place in there?
MeeksJoel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 21:22
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Aswan jaguar » 03 Sep 2017, 18:29

Manalink.exe should be enough.
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester
 
Posts: 6668
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 281 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby coachskau » 08 Oct 2017, 02:42

Your patch has been taken down, please upload another.
coachskau
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 02:40
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Aswan jaguar » 08 Oct 2017, 07:57

coachskau wrote:Your patch has been taken down, please upload another.
Which patch are you talking about?
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester
 
Posts: 6668
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 281 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Greatzky » 22 Nov 2017, 19:52

hey everyone. I've tried to do a search through this forum without any luck. Has anyone had luck running Shandalar from this specific MTG2010 ISO in a windowed mode?? I've played this game on and off since it came out in the 90s, but would rather have a windowed mode as switching to another program creates issues because of the resolution difference.

I've tried creating a windows shortcut and adding -w, -window, and -windowmode to the target with no success.
I am currently using Windows 7 for those interested.

Thank you for your time!
Greatzky
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Nov 2017, 19:40
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby TheKillerNacho » 10 Apr 2018, 12:17

Greatzky wrote:hey everyone. I've tried to do a search through this forum without any luck. Has anyone had luck running Shandalar from this specific MTG2010 ISO in a windowed mode?? I've played this game on and off since it came out in the 90s, but would rather have a windowed mode as switching to another program creates issues because of the resolution difference.

I've tried creating a windows shortcut and adding -w, -window, and -windowmode to the target with no success.
I am currently using Windows 7 for those interested.

Thank you for your time!
I'm afraid Windowed mode is more or less impossible for this distribution; the original executable simply wasn't made for it. There was a windowed mode being worked on by Korath in his mod (unfortunately this is no longer available) but it still didn't work quite right most of the time. There were, apparently, a lot of work that needed to be done in order to accomplish this.

What I've done to get it run in a window is use a Virtual Machine wrapper... run the Virtual Machine in a window, then run Shandalar from the VM. Works pretty well for the most part, the only thing you really need to do is figure out how to set up the VM correctly.
With much cheese,
TheKillerNacho
User avatar
TheKillerNacho
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 19:26
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby ArtooDetoo » 04 May 2019, 03:13

Hey there,

I'm not sure who's still on these forums, but I've been trying to get this installed on Windows 10. I can install and run it just fine, however, the videos are all skipped, and there are a lot of images and boxes that are skipped. For example, the last button on the left in green is just a black box, and the old "stuck" messages occurs, such as "Do you want to buy this card (Y/N)?"

I was thinking this had to do with Smiling Spectre's ACT fix, but those files are no longer available.

I found out I actually had the same problem 5 years ago in Windows 7, but no one found a solution:

viewtopic.php?f=76&t=8268 (Sorry I'm a new user and I can't post the full link)

I've seen youtubers run Shandalar with all of the animations and videos just fine using this installer on Windows 10, I'm not sure why it's not working for me. If anyone has any idea, that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

EDIT:

Okay I found fixes to two bugs.

The video issue was actually really easy. I only had to run compatibility for Windows XP.

The text was a little bit more tricky. Details can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=76&t=21481

The last issue though is that there still are a lot of screens being skipped. I don't get to see my next draw at the end of the duel, for example. If anyone knows a fix to this, that would be great. Thanks!
ArtooDetoo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 May 2014, 18:45
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to Shandalar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 564 on 05 Dec 2019, 12:05

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login Form