Bug (bad rule implementation)
by mtgrares
Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins
4 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Bug (bad rule implementation)
by aleatherglove » 27 Mar 2012, 17:59
Hi. I just got Forge last night. Feeling like getting back into MTG. The program looks great so far. Good work and thanks!
I'm not completely familiar with the new rules since I stopped playing a few years back, and am generally rusty. But I'm been trying to brush up/catch up. I noticed something in the first game I played that's inconsistent with what I've read on wizards.
I had Olivia Voldaren on the table. At EoT I used her ping ability on opponent's green creature (2/3 human) which had Sharpened Pitchfork equipped on it. Next turn I used her second ability to take control of pinged (now vampire) creature. It worked fine, except the Pitchfork became unequipped on opponent's side. Opponent did not re-equip it (and it was my turn anyway).
According to this article on Wizards (Ah! Can't post URL as new user)
transferring control of an equipped creature does not transfer control of the equipment but neither does it unequip it. As far as I can tell, at no point did the creature become and invalid target for the Pitchfork, and should have held on to it and turned its menacing pointy bits against its owner.
Sorry if this has already been discussed here. I did a search for it, but no time to delve into the forums and research today.
Thanks and GL.
EDIT: Wups. Didn't see the "how to report bugs" post. Colour-scheme of forum doesn't dintinguish stickies very well. Please move as necessary.
Additional info:
OS: WinXP
JAR file: forge-1.2.4-jar-with-dependencies.jar
Forge window title = Forge: 1.2.3-r14494
CHANGES.TXT says at top: Forge Beta: 03-02-2012 ver 1.2.4 rev 14490
I'll check back in case you need further info
BONUS BUG!!! If you try to play a land from your hand at the start of the game when Forge is still asking you if you desire a mulligan, weird stuff happens. A "crash" error window pops up. I dismissed it. Land showed up in battlefield area where I dragged it (not snap-to grid). Chose no mulligan and started. Land disappeared, turns proceeded normally, but the land was not returned to my hand. As if I had just started the game with 6 cards. Not a big deal, but there ya go. Happy coding.
I'm not completely familiar with the new rules since I stopped playing a few years back, and am generally rusty. But I'm been trying to brush up/catch up. I noticed something in the first game I played that's inconsistent with what I've read on wizards.
I had Olivia Voldaren on the table. At EoT I used her ping ability on opponent's green creature (2/3 human) which had Sharpened Pitchfork equipped on it. Next turn I used her second ability to take control of pinged (now vampire) creature. It worked fine, except the Pitchfork became unequipped on opponent's side. Opponent did not re-equip it (and it was my turn anyway).
According to this article on Wizards (Ah! Can't post URL as new user)
transferring control of an equipped creature does not transfer control of the equipment but neither does it unequip it. As far as I can tell, at no point did the creature become and invalid target for the Pitchfork, and should have held on to it and turned its menacing pointy bits against its owner.
Sorry if this has already been discussed here. I did a search for it, but no time to delve into the forums and research today.
Thanks and GL.
EDIT: Wups. Didn't see the "how to report bugs" post. Colour-scheme of forum doesn't dintinguish stickies very well. Please move as necessary.
Additional info:
OS: WinXP
JAR file: forge-1.2.4-jar-with-dependencies.jar
Forge window title = Forge: 1.2.3-r14494
CHANGES.TXT says at top: Forge Beta: 03-02-2012 ver 1.2.4 rev 14490
I'll check back in case you need further info
BONUS BUG!!! If you try to play a land from your hand at the start of the game when Forge is still asking you if you desire a mulligan, weird stuff happens. A "crash" error window pops up. I dismissed it. Land showed up in battlefield area where I dragged it (not snap-to grid). Chose no mulligan and started. Land disappeared, turns proceeded normally, but the land was not returned to my hand. As if I had just started the game with 6 cards. Not a big deal, but there ya go. Happy coding.
- aleatherglove
- Posts: 30
- Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 17:30
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 2 times
Re: Bug (bad rule implementation)
by friarsol » 27 Mar 2012, 18:25
Are you sure it became unequipped? Equipment only displays on the owners side of the battlefield currently (does not remain "Attached") this is the same if you cast an Aura on an opponents card, it just "sits" on your side of the battlefield.
- friarsol
- Global Moderator
- Posts: 7593
- Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
- Has thanked: 243 times
- Been thanked: 965 times
Re: Bug (bad rule implementation)
by aleatherglove » 27 Mar 2012, 18:39
When the opponent equipped it the creature went from 2/3 to 3/4. When I took control of it it became 2/3 again. I did not consider that the equipment wouldn't "physically" move, but given the loss of +1/+1 that's not the issue. Unless of course it was still technically equipped but stopped instilling its effects to the creature.
- aleatherglove
- Posts: 30
- Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 17:30
- Has thanked: 0 time
- Been thanked: 2 times
Re: Bug (bad rule implementation)
by moomarc » 27 Mar 2012, 18:52
You should consider updating to 1.2.5 or to the daily build. I seem to remember 1.2.4 was particularly buggy which so 1.2.5 was released as a maintenance release with a few extra cards.
-Marc
-
moomarc - Pixel Commander
- Posts: 2091
- Joined: 04 Jun 2010, 15:22
- Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
- Has thanked: 371 times
- Been thanked: 372 times
4 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests