by Salbei » 19 Feb 2011, 07:39
- If a creature with lifelink damages a planeswalker, should the creature's controller gain life?
Various "stole a Creature" Scenarios
If you are unsure about a possible bug or simply got general rule questions please post those things here.
I was just about post a Bug Report regarding Phytohydra getting blocked by a Phyrexian Vatmother (got infest). My intuition told me that the Phytohydra should die, but it did not and got +1/+1 counters instead.
-> turns out the game did the correct interaction and this was not a bug and should have been handled exactly like this!
- why? | Open
- Phytohydra's ability replaces damage. Infect changes the result of damage. Phytohydra's ability will replace infect damage in the same way that it replaces any other damage, and it will get +1/+1 counters. The damage doesn't have the chance to put -1/-1 counters on Phytohydra since it's never actually dealt.
Sometimes weird situations like this one happen in this game and there are so many interactions going on that you sometimes loose the overview.
THIS IS NO REPLACEMENT FOR THE BUG REPORT FORUM !
by aww1979 » 19 Feb 2011, 09:32
If a creature with lifelink damages a planeswalker, should the creature's controller gain life? Currently the engine does not give life for that.
by Salbei » 19 Feb 2011, 10:14
Here is what i found:
- related | Open
- Damage is still done, thus lifelink still works. When damaging a planeswalker damage is done in terms of removing loyalty counters as you said, but it is damage that causes the loss of these counters.Yes, they gain life. Removing loyalty from a planeswalker is the result of damage, but the damage is still dealt. Just like a player losing life is the result of damage dealt to them.
by Salbei » 01 Mar 2011, 20:02
I gain control of an opponents Creature (in my case via Keiga, the Tide Star, should not matter).
This is quite complex and i tried to cover a lot "whacky" scenarios.
What happens if that "stolen" Creature ... :
- a) ...got "champion a XYZ". Do i have to Champion another Creature ? What happens if it dies under my control ? (Wren's Run Packmaster)
b) ...got Echo, do i have to pay for it ? (Goblin War Buggy)
c) ...got any "enters the Battlefield" effects / things like "Kicker" or "Cascade"? Do they trigger again ? (Balduvian Horde)
d) ...got any "is put into the Graveyard" effects ? The "stolen" Creature dies under my control - what happens ?(Yavimaya Elder)
e) ...got any leaves play effects ? Does that trigger for the opponent when i steal the card ? Does it trigger for me or my opponent when it leaves play under MY control ? (Faceless Butcher)
f) ... is enchanted ? Does the Creature keep the Aura (my opponent controls) ? (Rancor) ?
g) ... got an equipment on it? Does my stolen creature still maintain the Equipped effect of the opponents Equipment? (Bonesplitter)
by Salbei » 01 Mar 2011, 20:19
- a) | Open
This covers the "leaves play" part of the initial question. When the Champion Creature leaves play it releases the "championed" Creature to the owners control.502.72. Champion
- 502.72a Champion represents two triggered abilities. "Champion an [object]" means "When this permanent comes into play, sacrifice it unless you remove another [object] you control from the game" and "When this permanent leaves play, return the removed card to play under its owner's control."
502.72b The two abilities represented by champion are linked abilities as defined by rule 217.7d.
502.72c A permanent is "championed" by another permanent if the latter removes the former from the game as a result of a champion ability.
(found @ http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Champion
This is currently NOT the case in Manalink!
Since the creature does NOT come into play you do not have to champion another creature.This is correctly implemented.
- b) | Open
So when i "steal" the card i would have to pay Echo for it, even when the original owner had already paid for it.502.19a Echo is a triggered ability. “Echo [cost]” means “At the beginning of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay [cost].
(found @ http://mtg.wikia.com/wiki/Echo)
Did i understand this right ?
- c) | Open
If i understand it, then the card already entered the Battlefield and does not trigger the effect when the "control" changes.This should be correct in Manalink.If a permanent has a targeted "enters the battlefield" ability that triggers if it was kicked, the target isn't chosen until the permanent enters the battlefield and the ability triggers (as opposed to when that permanent was cast). That means that sometimes you may wind up targeting something you don't want to. For example, say you cast a kicked Heartstabber Mosquito, which has the ability "When Heartstabber Mosquito enters the battlefield, if it was kicked, destroy target creature." In response to the Heartstabber Mosquito spell, your opponent sacrifices his or her only creature. When the Mosquito enters the battlefield, its ability triggers, and you must choose a target for it. If no one else controls any creatures, you must target one of your own -- possibly Heartstabber Mosquito itself.
(found @ http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Kicker)
To trigger "Cascade" the card needs to be played from your hand - this should not trigger when you steal or revive a creature. In Manalink Cascade somehow triggers when you revive a Creature - that should NOT happen.
- d)+e) | Open
- 410.10c Leaves-play abilities trigger when a permanent leaves the in-play zone. These are written as, but aren’t limited to, “When [this object] leaves play, . . .” or “Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from play, . . . .” An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left play checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. (found @ http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Tr ... ility)
Now THIS is confusing. As far as i understand the card is going to the OWNERS (the actual card owner,right?) graveyard and triggers anything for the OWNER.217.4a A graveyard is a discard pile. Any object that’s countered, discarded, destroyed, or sacrificed is put on top of its owner’s graveyard, as is any instant or sorcery spell that’s finished resolving. Each player’s graveyard starts out empty. (found @ http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Graveyard)
Otherwise it should be "controller" (or something like that) of the card if i got that right. I might be COMPLETELY off in that one.So please confirm.
- f)+g) | Open
That is very clear and should cover both.You take control of a creature, but Auras enchanting and Equipment attached to the creature do not change controller.
(found @ http://magiccards.info/query?q=control+ ... cname)
by aww1979 » 01 Mar 2011, 20:58
a) I've never come across this one, but then I don't own any cards with the champion an X ability, and I think only one exists in manalink right now. Can't argue with the comprehensive rules, though.
b) I would have thought that unless you stole it before the owner had a chance to pay echo, that echo would not need to be paid for, but that wiki site says you'd have to pay for it again.
c) Definitely not.
d) You'd do whatever death triggers it had, unless it said something like 'when it is put into YOUR graveyard', since it is being put into opponent's graveyard instead.
e) Definitely not for the first part; it's not leaving play. For the second part, you'd control whatever effects occur for leaving play if the creature leaves play.
f) The enchantments stay on the creature (or whatever permanent you steal) but are controlled by the opponent. Thus, if you steal a creature with a Firebreathing enchantment, only your opponent can pump it, but if you steal a creature with Flight, the creature still flies, even though your opponent still controls Flight.
g) Not 100% sure since I don't own any equipment cards IRL either, but I think that the equipment stays equipped on the creature even if you steal it. However, your opponent is likely to equip it to something else ASAP if they can, and of course you wouldn't control the equipment, so no using Jitte counters. (though if the stolen creature dealt damage, your opponent would get jitte counters on it :p)
by Salbei » 01 Mar 2011, 21:26
I´d like to point this Bug out:
Happened to me yesterday. I stole a champion creature and after it died i got the "championed" creature beneath it instead of my opponent.Forgot to create a savegame. Still have to report that one ...When the Champion Creature leaves play it releases the "championed" Creature to the owners control.
This is currently NOT the case in Manalink!
Just to prevent misunderstandings - you do NOT steal the Equipment when you steal a Creature that is "equipped" with it.
212.2k An Equipment's controller is separate from the equipped creature's controller; the two need not be the same. Changing control of the creature doesn't change control of the Equipment, and vice versa. Only the Equipment's controller can play its abilities. However, if the Equipment adds an ability to the equipped creature (with "gains" or "has'), the equipped creature's controller is the only one who can play that ability. (found @ http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Equipment)
by monopoman » 29 Feb 2012, 22:36
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests